Royal Irish Academy
Established in 1785, The Royal Irish Academy undertakes its own research projects, particularly in areas relating to Ireland and its heritage. In 1852 the Royal Irish Academy moved from Grafton Street to its current premises on Dawson Street. Built in c.1750, the current building has some fine decorative plasterwork and a handsome meeting room designed in 1854 by Frederick Clarendon and now used for conferences, exhibitions and public talks.
The academy advises and contributes to public debate and public policy formation on issues of major interest in science, technology and culture. It offers an independent forum to Irish scholars, and provides a network of support for scholarly disciplines through its network of national committees and commissions. The academy also maintains a library of scholarly papers.
Additionally, the Royal Irish Academy Library is one of Ireland’s research libraries. It manages major manuscript, book, pamphlet and drawings collections. The library offers comprehensive access and outreach programmes, facilitates master classes and visits, holds exhibitions of wonderful artwork, provides lecture series and publishes on the collections.
Check the website for events and fascinating online exhibitions.
- Things to see & doLibrariesMarsh's Library
- Things to see & doLibrariesThe Irish Architectural Archive
- Things to see & doLibrariesPearse Street Library
- Things to see & doLibrariesNational Library of Ireland
- Things to see & doLibrariesNational Photographic Archive
- Things to see & doLibrariesContemporary Music Centre
- Things to see & doLibrariesNational Folklore Collection UCD