The Steward of Christendom

Friday, 15 July 2022 - Saturday, 3 September 2022

Event times:
19:30 - 22:15
Event location:
Gate Theatre
Event price:
From €15

About this event

Sebastian Barry's classic play THE STEWARD OF CHRISTENDOM returns to the Gate Theatre for the first time in 25 years. This production coincides with the 100th anniversary of the handover of Dublin Castle to the Provisional Government of Ireland.

For the first time in over a quarter of a century, Sebastian Barry’s play The Steward of Christendom returns to the Gate stage.

Set in 1932, the play sees Thomas Dunne (Owen Roe) reliving moments of his career as a senior officer in the Dublin Metropolitan Police (DMP), including the handover of Dublin Castle to Michael Collins in 1922 following the signing of the Anglo-Irish Treaty. This profoundly moving play also features reimagined memories of his family: his daughters and his son, Willie, killed in World War I.

This revival coincides with the 100th anniversary of the handover of Dublin Castle to the Provisional Government of Ireland.

Evening performances: Monday to Saturday at 7.30pm. Saturday matinees at 2.30pm, except July 16th.

You may also like

  • What's onLive music & gigs
    The Cher Show

    Tue, 19 Jul - Sat, 30 Jul

    Bord Gáis Energy Theatre

  • What's onLive music & gigs
    Tosca

    Mon, 11 Jul - Sun, 17 Jul

    Bord Gáis Energy Theatre

  • What's onTheatre
    FEAR

    Fri, 8 Jul - Sat, 9 Jul

    Smock Alley Theatre, 1662

  • What's onTheatre
    Translations

    Mon, 13 Jun - Sat, 13 Aug

    Abbey Theatre

  • What's onTheatre
    King John

    Wed, 27 Jul - Fri, 29 Jul

    Smock Alley Theatre, 1662