See & Do

Concerts & Gigs

Perspectives Philip Glass Music in 12 Parts

  • Address

    National Concert Hall, Earlsfort Terrace

  • Email

  • Web

  • Phone


Philip Glass, an icon of contemporary music and one of the great composers of the 20th century, will take up a residency at the National Concert Hall in October 2019.

As a part of this residency, Glass and his Ensemble will perform two concerts of works from his prolific career as a composer and performer.

First up will be a performance of Music in 12 Parts, which dates back to the early 1970s. Glass composed the work for his Ensemble to perform, and it features the culmination of his long-form, minimalist pieces that are built on repetition of simple themes allied with minute changes to the rhythmic, harmonic, and melodic material within.

Music in 12 Parts is a truly epic and hypnotic work, with each of the 12 sections clocking in at between 15 and 20 minutes. For many, this work helps define the classic sound of the Philip Glass Ensemble, which celebrates its 50th anniversary in 2019.

Don't miss the opportunity to see this seismically important work of 20th century music in full at the National Concert Hall.

€45 - €65

Admission Prices:

  • €45




Event Dates:

  • Sat, 26 October 2019 18:00 - 22:00

See What's

TripAdvisor gif