The Custom House, designed by the renowned James Gandon, was completed in 1791 and is one of Dublin's finest heritage buildings. It has played a unique role in Dublin's social, economic and political history over the past 200 years.
Initially the building was exclusively the headquarters of the Commissioners of Custom and Excise; however by the beginning of the twentieth century, the dominant role of the Custom House was in relation to local government. The building was burnt to the ground on 25 May, 1921 during the Irish War of Independence; restoration work was competed by 1928.
A second programme of restoration began in the 1980s and was completed in time for the bi-centenary of the Custom House in 1991.
Download Visit Dublin’s Georgian Insider Guide to find out more about Georgian Dublin.