The Skerries Mills industrial heritage centre and town park comprises a watermill, 5-sail windmill and 4-sail windmill with associated mill races, mill pond and wetlands.
Originally one of the properties of the Priory of Canons Regular of St. Augustine of Holmpatrick, the history of the mills can be traced to the early 16th century and a bakery was established on site by 1840.
While stone-ground milling declined in the 1930's, the bakery continued to flourish for a further fifty years. The watermill and both windmills have been restored to working order and are open to the public throughout the year.
Visitors can try their hand at grinding, read about the history of milling and observe the stones, shakers, sieves and elevators powered by wind and water.
April - September: 10.00am-5.30pm Daily
October - March: 10.00am-4.30pm Daily
Closed 23rd-27th Dec & 31st Dec-1st Jan.
Senior Citizens/Students €5.00
Group Admission Prices:
Group Rates available on request Admission to building is free, above prices are for guided tours.
Minimum Group number is 10.
Guided tours, Watermill Cafe with in-house baking and cooking, craft shop, exhibition area, ample free parking, literature available in French, German, Italian, Spanish and Irish.
How to Get There:
30km north of Dublin. 5 minutes walk from Skerries train station.
Bus route 33 from Dublin city. Signposted off the N1/M1.
Download Visit Dublin’s Dublin on a Budget Guide to find out more about visiting Dublin on a Budget.
Download Visit Dublin’s Family Fun Insider Guide to find out more about Family Fun in Dublin.